Reflection

Throughout the project – Making Connections I have found it a bit of a rollercoaster.
I have enjoyed the process of designing – drawing to manipulating on Photoshop to then a concluded CAD visual. I have also really enjoyed looking at fashion designers such as Alexander McQueen, my favourite – Dame Vivienne Westwood and CoCo Chanel  in contrast to Interior designers such as Bonnie + Neil which is whom I based my collection on at the beginning.
The designers I am designing for – Preen are very diverse, some collections are bright and bold digitally and then others a little precise and delicate, – in my opinion.
In addition I have liked experimenting with geometric shapes as I haven’t in previous projects and I think the geometrics with the addition of florals have worked really well.
One of the negatives of this project would be collectively as a group we were pretty confused at times and felt as if it was a constant emotional rollercoaster – wonder what third year will be like aye.
Another negative would be workshops this term – I have so much respect for Maggie and Steve and understand it is hard, steve especially to try and help each individual over the three years. At times there was confusion on what we were allowed and what we weren’t allowed to do in the workshops. After speaking to Steve myself I have a better understanding of everything.
One thing which would be a very good thing in my opinion to do before we break up for the academic year is to have a refresher workshop on how to do a screen. Some of us can do it, some of us can’t and I think it will be an inconvenience in third year if everyone is asking Steve if he can individually help us to make up a screen.
Knowingly I like working on photoshop, scanning my drawings in and recreating them in a different, unique design to then be put into CAD visuals. I had only previously done CADS before and that was on Illustrator when I attended placement – not Photoshop. I was shown by a fellow textile student how to do a CAD visual in the most simplest way and ever since I have really enjoyed practising the process and seeing what my work would look like within the fashion industry this term!
One thing I found very helpful and interesting was the working process to produce a croquis, usually I would show repeats, etc on Photoshop but going back to hand and using the tracing paper (which I haven’t used for years) was pretty amusing!
One thing I do need to do before the hand in in June is to experiment using different fabrics and to choose a fabric which would be good to work with and also tolerable enough to go with my designs.
In addition, another aim would be to research the long list I have for fashion designers and to do more market research on my chosen company – Preen.
I also aim to do produce more drawings over the easter term and to look at other designers across the industry who are using/have used geometric shapes with the addition of florals. I have learnt whilst researching that it doesn’t necessarily mean that I have to add geometrics into my design – it could be the shape of the garment which is geometric.
Furthermore one addition to improve would be time management, even though I tend to do well with attendance in university I still feel as if I could have done more, especially annotating in my sketch book more as I am queen of annotating – one definite thing to do over Easter break.
One thing which made me laugh and test myself this term is the fact I had to be very precise and particular with the colours I chose for my colour palette and not to go out of them as usually my work is very vibrant and unique? I feel as if some of my designs are a little bland in that way – as in colour wise yet overall I am pretty happy with them.
To make me feel a little better about my project is to arrange a tutorial with a tutor to talk about what I have done so far and if it is okay – however saying that Im sure all will be told in the formative feedback we will receive.
Even though I am designing for fashion this term, attending the Chelsea Design show gave me so much inspiration not just for this project but especially for the future even ordering the many samples was interesting as I did not know how to do that before, thankfully one of the third years helped us.
Overall I think my thought of this term has been very positive and this project is a very good way to give us a start ready for third year. I am a little anxious about the Buddy System, yet saying that since working now and then in the third years room, they have been a great help helping a few of us with their knowledge of third year, their projects and their personal view of the course. I think it is a good thing to interact with all years, so maybe next term it will be good to get to know the first years better.
To conclude I am happy and ready to start next term, I shall be doing more research and drawing over the Easter Break with the help of the occasional piece of chocolate!!



Leave a comment